COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE - JANUARY 22, 2007

COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS TO VARIOUS COMMITTEES AND TASK FORCES

Recommendation

The City Clerk recommends:

That Council members be appointed to the following committees and task forces for the 2006-2010 term of council:

- 1) Council/School Board Liaison Committee;
- 2) Emergency Management Program Committee;
- 3) Hearing Committee for Licensing Matters;
- 4) Highway 427 Extension Committee;
- 5) Keele Valley Landfill Committee;
- 6) Spadina-York Subway Extension Committee;
- 7) Environmental Task Force;
- 8) Asian Long-Horned Beetle Intergovernmental Task Force;
- 9) Preservation of the Berton Artifacts and Memorabilia Steering Committee;
- 10) That staff be directed to request the York Catholic District School Board, the York Region District School Board and Trustees of both school boards for their continued participation and representation on the Council/School Board Liaison Committee;
- 1l) That staff be directed to request the Region of York, Town of Caledon, Region of Peel and City of Brampton for their continued participation and representation on the Highway 427 Extension Committee:
- That staff be directed to request the Region of York, City of Toronto, County of Simcoe, York University, Universal Workers Union Local 183, Parc Downsview Park Inc, Carpenters & Allied Workers Local 27, York Region Transit Plan Committee, Smart Commute Association of Black Creek, City of Barrie and Go Transit for their continued participation and representation on the Spadina-York Subway Extension Committee; and
- That staff be directed to request the City of Toronto, Ministry of Natural Resources, Canadian Food Inspection Agency and the Toronto and Region Conservation Authority for their continued participation and representation on the Asian Long-Horned Beetle Intergovernmental Task Force.

Purpose

The purpose of this report is to consider Council appointments to various committees and task forces.

Background - Analysis and Options

A summary of each committee and task force's mandate and Council appointments in the previous term, is provided below for information purposes.

Council/School Board Liaison Committee

The committee's mandate is to promote discussion on issues of mutual concern between representatives of the City of Vaughan, York Catholic District School Board and York Region District School Board.

The following Council members were appointed to the Council/School Board Liaison Committee for the 2003-2006 term of office:

Mayor Michael Di Biase (ex-officio) Councillor Bernie Di Vona Councillor Tony Carella Councillor Peter Meffe Councillor Sandra Yeung Racco

Emergency Management Program Committee (Statutory Committee)

The committee functions as an accountable body that guides and oversees the development, implementation and maintenance of the Emergency Management Program to improve public safety and create a disaster–resilient community.

The following Council members were appointed to the Emergency Management Program Committee in May 2005:

Mayor Michael Di Biase (ex-officio)
Regional Councillor Linda Jackson
Regional Councillor Joyce Frustaglio (alternate Regional Councillor)
Councillor Alan Shefman
Councillor Sandra Yeung Racco (alternate Local Councillor)

Hearing Committee for Licensing Matters (Statutory Committee)

The purpose of this committee is to hear applications for the granting, suspension or revocation of licenses issued pursuant to the City's Licensing By-law.

The following Council members were appointed to the Hearing Committee for Licensing Matters in May 2005:

Councillor Tony Carella Councillor Bernie Di Vona Councillor Peter Meffe Councillor Alan Shefman

Highway 427 Extension Committee

The committee's mandate is to promote the Highway 427 extension.

The following Council members were appointed to the Highway 427 Extension Committee for the 2003-2006 term of office:

Councillor Tony Carella Mayor Michael Di Biase Regional Councillor Joyce Frustaglio

Keele Valley Landfill Committee

The Keele Valley Landfill Site Liaison Committee is an ad hoc committee that retains the existing membership with the exception of Council representatives.

The following Council members were appointed to the Keele Valley Landfill Site Liaison Committee for the 2003-2006 term of office:

Mayor Michael Di Biase (ex-officio) Councillor Peter Meffe Regional Councillor Mario F. Ferri

Spadina York Subway Extension Committee

The Committee's mandate is to promote the Spadina-York Subway Extension.

The following Council members were appointed for the 2003-2006 term of office to represent the City of Vaughan:

Councillor Sandra Yeung Racco Regional Councillor Mario F. Ferri

(Note: Regional Councillor Joyce Frustaglio represented the Region of York and Mayor Michael Di Biase represented the Region of York and TRCA)

Environmental Task Force

The Task Force's mandate is to lead the City in environmental stewardship including providing assistance and advice on "green" improvements to municipal operations, promoting awareness and encouraging green or environmental practices in homes, work places and open spaces.

Council members appointed were:

Mayor Michael Di Biase (ex-officio) Regional Councillor Joyce Frustaglio Regional Councillor Mario F. Ferri Councillor Alan Shefman

Asian Long-Horned Beetle Intergovernmental Task Force

The Task Force was struck in 2004 to address the Asian Long-Horned Beetle infestation with the recommendation that the Mayor and Local Councillor, Ward 3, be appointed to the task force.

Council members appointed were:

Mayor Michael Di Biase Councillor Di Vona

(Note: Regional Councillor Mario F. Ferri represented the Region of York).

Preservation of the Berton Artifacts and Memorabilia Steering Committee

The Task Force's mandate includes the creation of a place to house some of the artifacts collected by Mr. Berton during his 55 years of residence in Kleinburg.

Council members appointed were:

Mayor Michael Di Biase Councillor Peter Meffe

Relationship to Vaughan Vision 2007

This report is consistent with the priorities set by Council as it serves our citizens and promotes community safety, health and wellness.

Conclusion

It is appropriate at this time to appoint Council members to the aforementioned committees and task forces for the 2006-2010 term of council.

Attachments

None

Report prepared by:

Sybil Fernandes, Manager of Administrative Services/Deputy City Clerk Ext. 8628

Respectfully submitted,

John D. Leach City Clerk Janice Atwood-Petkovski Commissioner of Legal and Administrative Services/City Solicitor